Switching to Drive from Box

In the past, you might’ve used the consumer version of Box™ outside of work. With G Suite, you’ll find many similar features—and several additional benefits—when you use Google Drive as your new cloud storage destination.

Here are the differences at a glance:

Set sharing access:

  • Box has 2 sharing access levels:
    • Viewer (view-only access)
    • Editor (full edit access)
  • Drive has 4 access levels:
    • Can view (view-only access)
    • Can comment
    • Can edit (full edit access)
    • Is owner (transfer ownership)

Control sharing visibility:

  • Box has 2 ways to control visibility:
    • Specific people
    • Anyone with the link
  • Drive has 6 ways to control visibility:
    • Specific people or Google Groups
    • Anyone with the link
    • Anyone in your domain with the link
    • Your domain (searchable in your domain)
    • Public on the web (searchable on the web)
    • Set sharing expiration dates

Advanced search:

  • Users can use advanced search in Box by:
    • File type
    • Ownership
    • In a specific folder
    • Date modified
    • File size
    • Limit scope of search area
  • Users can use advanced search in Drive by:
    • File type.
    • Ownership.
    • Opens with.
    • Domains-only.
    • Date modified.
    • Contains words.
    • Shared with.

Sort files:

  • In Box users can sort files by:
    • Name
    • Date
    • Size
  • In Drive users can sort by:
    • Name
    • Last modified (date)
    • Last edited by me (date)
    • Last opened by me (date)

Access offline:

  • In Box users have offline access via:
    • Mobile devices
  • In Drive users have offline access via:
    • Mobile devices
    • Computer desktop
    • Web browser (Google Chrome only)

Delete a file:

  • In Box files are automatically “Deleted” on all devices:
    • Moved to Trash folder but still counts in storage quota
    • Permanently deleted after 30 days
  • In Drive files are automatically “Removed” on all devices:
    • Moved to Trash folder but still counts in storage quota
    • Kept indefinitely in Trash folder unless you permanently delete it

After you store your files in Drive, you can reach them on any computer, smartphone, or tablet. When you change or delete a file stored in one device, Drive immediately makes the same change everywhere else, so you don’t have to.

Was this article helpful?

  • Was this article helpful ?

  • yes   no

Related Articles

Leave A Comment?