Switching to Drive from Microsoft OneDrive

In the past, you might’ve used the consumer version of Microsoft® OneDrive™ outside of work. Now that you’re using G Suite, you’ll find many similar features—and several additional benefits—when you use Google Drive as your new cloud storage destination.

Here are the differences at a glance:

Set sharing access:

  • OneDrive has 2 sharing access levels:
    • Recipients can only view (view-only access)
    • Recipients can edit (full edit access)
  • Drive has 4 access levels:
    • Can view (view-only access)
    • Can comment
    • Can edit (full edit access)
    • Is owner (transfer ownership)

Control sharing visibility:

  • OneDrive has 2 ways to control visibility:
    • Specific people or contact groups
    • Public on the web (searchable on the web)
  • Drive has 6 ways to control visibility:
    • Specific people or Google Groups
    • Anyone with the link
    • Anyone in your domain with the link
    • Your domain (searchable in your domain)
    • Public on the web (searchable on the web)
    • Set sharing expiration dates

Advanced search:

  • OneDrive does not have an advanced search function
  • Users can use advanced search in Drive by:
    • File type
    • Ownership
    • Opens with
    • Domains-only
    • Date modified
    • Contains words
    • Shared with

Track updates:

  • OneDrive does not have a track updates feature.
  • Drive is able to track updates through an activity stream.

Sort files:

  • In Box users can sort files by:
    • Name
    • Date modified or created
    • Size
    • Ascending or descending
  • In Drive users can sort by:
    • Name
    • Last modified (date)
    • Last edited by me (date)
    • Last opened by me (date)

Access offline:

  • In OneDrive users have offline access via:
    • Mobile devices
    • Computer desktop
  • In Drive users have offline access via:
    • Mobile devices
    • Computer desktop
    • Web browser (Google Chrome only)

Delete a file:

  • In OneDrive files are automatically “Deleted” on all devices:
    • Moved to Recycle Bin and doesn’t count against storage quota
    • Permanently deleted after one year
  • In Drive files are automatically “Removed” on all devices:
    • Moved to Trash folder but still counts in storage quota
    • Kept indefinitely in Trash folder unless you permanently delete it

After you store your files in Drive, you can reach them on any computer, smartphone, or tablet. When you change or delete a file stored in one device, Drive immediately makes the same change everywhere else, so you don’t have to.

Was this article helpful?

  • Was this article helpful ?

  • yes   no

Related Articles

Leave A Comment?