How to upgrade my WordPress application

WARNING: The upgrade process will affect all files and folders included in the main WordPress installation. This includes all the core files used to run WordPress. If you have made any modifications to those files, your changes will be lost.

For security and performance reasons it is a good idea to always keep WordPress updated to the latest version.

Automatic update

When an update is available there will be a notification on your Dashboard, and to update click on the link in the message or go to Dashboard > Updates.

90320877

Before you can update it is recommended that you create a backup of your WordPress site. That way if anything goes wrong during the update you can restore the backup.

If you have caching enabled make sure you clear the cache after you update otherwise you will continue to see the old version until the cache updates.

Manual update

If for some reason you are unable to update your WordPress site automatically, maybe due to an error, then you can update it manually.

Before you can manually update your WordPress site you will have to download the latest version of WordPress form WordPress.org. Once you have downloaded it, un-zip it.

Then on your website, deactivate all plugins. If you can’t access your website for whatever reason don’t worry about this step.

Then connect to your server via FTP and delete the old wp-includes and wp-admin directories (they will be in the root of your installation).

Then using FTP upload the new wp-includes and wp-admin directories to your web host, in place of the previously deleted directories.

Upload the individual files from the new wp-content folder to your existing wp-content folder, overwriting existing files. Do NOT delete your existing wp-content folder or folders in your existing wp-content directory (except for the one being overwritten by new files).

Lastly, upload all new loose files from the root directory of the new version to your existing WordPress root directory.

Now you can login to your site and reactivate plugins!

If you have caching enabled make sure you clear the cache after you update otherwise you will continue to see the old version until the cache updates.

Was this article helpful?

  • Was this article helpful ?

  • yes   no

Related Articles

Leave A Comment?